Inspired…

DSC01122

I made cream puffs tonight…stuffed with my favorite homemade chocolate pudding recipe, sprinkled with powdered sugar.  Delicious!   Cole and I delivered some to a few of our neighbors also, which made it just a little bit more fun!

The reason for the cream puffs?  I’m completely inspired.  Last night Chris and I went to see the new movie Julie&Julia.  Fantastic!  The story follows the life of Julia Child, famous cookbook author and chef, and Julie Powell, young New Yorker who spends a year cooking through Julia Child’s cookbook and blogging about it.   I was captivated by all the cooking, the grocery shopping, the mouthwatering meals I saw…YUM!    I already love cooking and I love blogging, and this movie just took my aspirations to new heights.  Chris even liked the movie, laughed out loud, and told me he was happy we saw it.  How’s that for a great date? 

Lately for dinner I’ve been working with tomatoes…we have plenty from our garden to use up!  So tonight we grilled pork seasoned only with the juice from one lemon, salt, and pepper.  I topped the pork with Sauce Provencale…a tomato based, garlicky, white wine sauce that was oh, so yummy.   And then the cream puffs, of course, for dessert.   

I realize that having small children doesn’t allow for too much time in the kitchen other than what is necessary to get a healthy meal on the table, but I try to squeeze in the time, even if it is with little helpers who always want a lick, a taste, or even just a smell!   Someday, though, even if it’s not until they’re in school, my day will come.  I will have a moment, an hour, or a day to spend in the kitchen wearing my favorite yellow apron.  Until then, I’ll make the occasional cream puff.

3 thoughts on “Inspired…

  1. Yummy…cream puffs. Something to look forward to next time we visit! I think you already do amazing things in the kitchen!

  2. oh dang it. how many calories are those bad boys? HA! anytime you want to feel inspired you can come over to marghita and i will watch the boys and you can go crazy in my little kitchen. no problem. free babysitting, I PROMISE. : ) ha ha ha, miss you all anne…seriously. and, by the way, i got the MOST AWESOME message the other day on my skype voicemail. aaaghghghgghgh! don’t worry franks, kels is coming – just another 2 months – i’m coming, i’m coming – hoooolllldddd onnnnnnnnnn!

Leave a Reply

