Day 12

It’s day 12 with Zeke.  Where has the time gone?  I realize I haven’t posted in almost a week!   Here are some highlights…well, some are not so high…so let’s say here are some lights so far on this journey with three boys.

Zeke is fantastic.  I cannot rave enough about him!  So far this has been a far easier transition than when Max was born.  I realize things can change in a moment, though!  Zeke is a great eater and sleeper, and so snuggly.  I just love it!   He rides along in my Moby wrap on our neighborhood walks and while C & M are playing outside, and well, hasn’t peed on me yet.  Way to go, Zeke!   Oh, and I’m learning that he does not like his hands inside the swaddle blanket.  See the photo?

Cole, Max, and Chris all have or have had hand, foot, and mouth disease this past week.  I am so angry at sickness!  I wish it would just leave our house alone.  Seriously!  And it usually happens that everyone gets sick but me so I’m left with whiny kids, a tired husband, and zero free time.  Thankfully they are all on the up swing of this bout with the germs.

I have spent two days alone so far with all three boys and am happy to say that I think we are going to make it.  I wasn’t sure during those first few days home from the hospital how I was going to manage without my mom’s help!  I should have remembered, though, that physically those first few days are tough also, and that every day gets better.  Sure enough, we are figuring more out day by day and I feel much better now that my body has had time to heal.   And today I took the boys to the doctor’s office and to Kroger…both successfully!

I am so thankful for all of the help, meals, gifts, phone calls, emails, facebook messages, and blog comments that everyone has given us since Zeke’s birth, too.  We are overwhelmed with love and support.  We feel so blessed!

When my mom came to help us when I got home from the hospital, she brought my brother’s old Legos for Cole to play with.  AMAZING.  We now have a kid who is completely entertained by building ships, planes, vehicles, etc. with the tiniest of pieces.  It’s only for when Max is napping, and man, does it keep Cole busy.   Since Zeke has been home, I have grown to love that afternoon time that I have with just Cole and Zeke.  Usually Zeke sleeps, so Cole and I can enjoy the quiet, build, talk, rest.   He describes to me what he’s building, how it will function, his reasoning for putting pieces in certain places.  I love watching his curiosity and creativity!  So different than Max’s personality.  He’s exuberant!  He’s wild.  He’s loud.  He’s sweet.  He wants to include everyone in everything.  And he’s fast.  I love it all!  I can’t wait to see how Zeke will blend with Cole and Max.

3 thoughts on “Day 12

  1. Anne & Chris ~ Your blog keeps all of us in the loop. Thank you for caring to keep us informed. You must be “overwhelmed” with the many responsibilities/activities that demand your attention. We admire and love you both so much.

  2. Anne..I so know where you are coming from..Brian was calm,curious and analytical, whereas Brad was wild,loud and so busy…I will tell you that Adam is a perfect blend of both his brothers. It is amazing how three boys growing up in the same household can be so different…Enjoy

  3. Anne,

    You have such a great spirit, I love it! You make it sound so easy with three! Congratulations on figuring out how to get out and about with all three kids. You’re amazing!

Leave a Reply

