The Empty Tomb

I don’t feel like blogging about Easter.  It was great and not so great.  I mean, there were great parts.  The tomb rolls, the Easter garden the boys and I made last week together.  The time spent with lots of family, especially my grandparents and my cousin Rob, home from New Zealand.  But.  Chris was in California.  His dad will meet Jesus in heaven in just days, and Chris was there to serve him and be by his side one last time.   Gives me a pit in my stomach.  Sadness and junk.  I can’t help but be reminded, though, that the resurrection we celebrated over the weekend happened for moments like these.  So Chris’s dad’s death will not be the end.  Jesus paid it all on the cross for Chris’s dad, conquered death, and brought life eternal.  So up next for Bubba is life in heaven.  What a gift.  What. a. gift.  It’s not about bunnies and baskets.  It’s about the empty tomb, the hope of heaven.  The life we receive from the sacrifice of Jesus.   No matter if  on Easter Sunday I wore jeans and a t-shirt, went unshowered, sat in a car for hours, skipped church, and ate leftovers.   I can choose joy.  Death is not the end.  The tomb is still empty.

Therefore, we do not lose heart.  Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day.   2 Corinthians 4:16

2 thoughts on “The Empty Tomb

Leave a Reply

